1718Banner Bohemian

Dvořák Slavonic Dances

Hindemith Mathis der Maler: Symphony

Dvořák Symphony No. 8 in G Major

LSO’s final Masterworks concert of the season features music from Antonín Dvořák and Paul Hindemith. German and Austrian folk music influenced all three pieces. Hindemith’s “Mathis der Maler: Symphony” came under harsh criticism from the Nazi party due to its plot, which focused on artistic duty over political ties. Dvořák’s “Slavonic Dances Op. 46” is lively, full of national character and considered to be Dvořák’s most memorable orchestration. Dvořák’s “Symphony No. 8 in G major” is a cheery and lyrical piece that draws inspiration from Bohemian folk music. Join the LSO for a night that examines the themes of patriotism, heritage and artistic freedom.

Buy Now  

Title: LSO Materworks 5

Composer: Antonín Dvořák
Work: Slavonic Dances, Op 46 No. 6
Performers: St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Zoltán Kocsis

Composer: Antonín Dvořák
Work: Slavonic Dances, Op. 46 No. 8
Performers: Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle

Composer: Paul Hindemith
Work: Mathis der Maler
Performers: London Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Jascha Horenstein

Composer: Antonín Dvořák
Work: Symphony No 8
Performers: Cleveland Orchestra
Conductor: George Szell