1718Banner French

Debussy Prelude to the Afternoon of Faun

Ravel Piano Concerto in G Major
Adam Golka, piano

Ravel Le Tombeau de Couperin

Debussy La Mer

This concert features the work of two of France’s greatest composers, Maurice Ravel and Claude Debussy. “La Mer” and “Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun” are among Debussy’s most famous and influential pieces. Ravel dedicated “Le Tombeau de Couperin” to his friends who died during World War I while “Piano Concerto in G major” was inspired by American jazz. Award-winning pianist Adam Golka returns as solo pianist for Concerto in G major.

Buy Now  

Golka 2 web

Adam Golka, Piano

Composer: Claude Debussy
Work: Claude Debussy, Prélude à l'Après-midi d'un faune

Composer: Maurice Ravel
Work: Piano Concerto in G major
Performers: Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Tugan Sokhiev

Composer: Maurice Ravel
Work: Tombeau
Performers: Berliner Philharmoniker

Composer: Claude Debussy
Work: La Mer

            In this concert, two of France’s greatest composers are put on show, with all four pieces being composed by Maurice Ravel, and Claude Debussy.   Both Prelude to the afternoon of Faun and La Mer are two of Debussy’s most famous and influential pieces. Inspired by the poem L'après-midi d'un faune by Stéphane Mallarmé, Prelude to an afternoon faun is one of Debussy’s most famous pieces. La Mer takes an unorthodox view at the sea, casting aside the usual devices of the water and instead opts for his own depictions of waves and water droplets through the use musical onomatopoeia. Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G major was heavily influenced by American jazz music while Ravel toured the US. He remarked at how captivating and diverse the rhythms were and soon began composing the piece to reflect the influence it had on him. Le Tombeau de Couperin was written in dedication to friends of Ravel that died during World War I, with each movement dedicated to a different friend who passed. When remarking on the lightheartedness of the piece, Ravel himself said “The dead are sad enough, in their eternal silence.” Award winning pianist Adam Golka returns as solo pianist for Concerto in G major. We are thrilled to bring the music from these composers back to the stage.