16 17MW1

Beethoven Overture to The Creatures of
 Prometheus, Op. 43

Aaron Copland Suite from Appalachian Spring

Beethoven Symphony No. 3 "Eroica"

The first of two exceptional classical composers featured in this robustly beautiful program, Beethoven’s Overture to The Creatures of Prometheus, Op. 43 depicts the great composer’s version of the Greek figure and his interaction with humans on earth through contrasting somber and energetic sounds. Copland’s Appalachian Spring Suite is one of the most beloved and iconic selections in the classical music repertoire due to its gorgeous storytelling of a pioneering couple’s wedding. Finally, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3 was inspired by the ideals of the French Revolution and was originally dedicated to Napoléon Bonaparte, but after the leader declared himself emperor in 1804, Beethoven violently scratched out the dedication, leaving holes in the paper. The heroic undertones and beautiful melody will conclude this first masterworks concert in ideal fashion.

Composer: Beethoven
Work: Overture "Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus"
Performers: Wiener Philharmoniker Orchestra
Conductor: Claudio Abbado

Composer: Aaron Copland
Work: Appalachian Spring
Performers: Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Leonard Bernstein